School Counseling

Iowa School Counseling Framework

School Counseling framework image

The Iowa School Counseling Framework provides a model to guide and assist Iowa’s school counselors in the implementation of a comprehensive school counseling program. This framework is designed to support school counseling programs that are rooted in accountability and success for each student. It can be used by school counselors, administrators, students, families and stakeholders that support school counseling including but not limited to school boards and community members. Please see the table of contents to navigate to topics of particular interest.

Table of Contents

Iowa School Counseling Framework

Introduction

The School Counselor in Iowa

The Professional School Counselor

The School Counseling Program

How Does a School Counseling Program Connect to a Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)

How is the ASCA Model Implemented?

AEA School Counselor Contact Information:

CENTRAL RIVERS AEA
Chuck Buseman
cbuseman@centralriversaea.org
641-425-5954
  

Marie Conklin
mconklin@centralriversaea.org

Liz Delcastillo
ldelcastillo@centralriversaea.org

GRANT WOOD AEA
Debra Brokaw
dbrokaw@gwaea.org
319-399-6790

Aimee Hospodarsky           
ahospodarsky@gwaea.org
319-399-6816
GREAT PRAIRIE AEA
Jaci Jarmes
jaci.jarmes@gpaea.org
641-660-1847

Amanda Brink
amanda.brink@gpaea.org
641-682-8591 Ext. 5258

GREEN HILLS AEA
Andrea Danker         
adanker@ghaea.org
712-307-2482            

Kathy Hanafan
hanafan@ghaea.org
712-366-0503

HEARTLAND AEA
Sue Schirmer
sschirmer@heartlandaea.org
515-383-5006

KEYSTONE AEA
Scotti Hagensick
shagensick@keystoneaea.org 
563-245-1480 

MISSISSIPPI BEND AEA

NORTHWEST AEA
Mark Shea
mshea@nwaea.org
712-222-6332

PRAIRIE LAKES AEA
Marni Moody
mmoody@plaea.org 
712-335-6059